Understanding Chakras and their Role in Healing the Body

General Wellness

I believe spirituality is an essential component of wellness, so I decided to write a four-part series on the topic. So far we’ve defined spirituality and discussed the importance of creating a spiritual practice. In this post, I’m going to take things a little further and discuss chakras – what they are and how they can help you to heal.

Chakra is a sanskrit word that means “wheel.” This is because these subtle energy centers that start at the top of your head and end at the base of your spinal cord contain prana, or life force, that moves inside of you in a spinning motion.

This spinning energy is housed at seven distinct centers and is responsible for carrying energy throughout the body, regulating all its processes, – like organ and immune function. They also play an important role in emotional regulation.

There are seven chakras, each with its own vibrational frequency, color, and location.

They also have an associated phrase that can be used to create awareness and healing through self-reflective journaling.

To help you understand the chakra’s and amplify your own spiritual practice, here is some in-depth information on each energy center:

1. Root Chakra

The root chakra is located at the base of the spine, near your tailbone, and is associated with the color red. It represents your foundation and when all is well with this chakra, you will feel secure, grounded in reality, and calm. In contrast, when this chakra is blocked or out of balance due to a threat to your basic survival needs, you will feel uncertain or anxious. You may also experience lower back pain and low energy levels.

To begin healing this chakra, I recommend journaling using the phrase “I am…

Set aside some time to reflect on who you are. Are you smart, capable, generous, a mother, a father…write it all down and notice how each word feels as it makes it way into your journal.

2. Sacral

The sacral chakra is orange and is located approximately two inches below your belly button. It is the center of your creative energy as well as your sexuality. When your sacral chakra is out of balance you may feel bored or uninspired, experience low sex drive, or resistance to change.

To begin finding balance in your sacral chakra make time to journal and reflect on the phrase “I feel…

Give yourself time and permission to feel this area of your body and to tap into your creativity and passion. Write down sensations and emotions as they arise. Or even consider tapping into your creativity and painting, coloring or drawing what comes to you as you feel into your sacral chakra.

3. Solar Plexus

The solar plexus chakra is often referred to as the “personal power” chakra as it is the center for self-esteem, autonomy, and determination. It is located in the stomach area in your upper abdomen and is associated with the color yellow.

When this chakra is balanced you will feel confident in your abilities and sure of your life path. An imbalance in this area can manifest as digestive issues or disease in internal organs, like the pancreas, liver, and kidneys.

To increase awareness of this chakra and begin healing, reflect on the phrase “I do…

Think about all the things you do in life and write it down. If you want to take this a step further, reflect on how all of the things you do make you feel.

4. Heart

As you might expect, the heart chakra is located in the center of the chest, just above your heart. It is associated with the color green and governs our capacity to love and be loved. Balance in this area affords us with the ability to be empathetic and compassionate while an imbalance can lead to unhealthy boundaries, a lack of trust in ourselves and others, relationship trouble, heart palpitations, and high blood pressure.

Reflect on the phrase “I love…” to maintain balance in this chakra.

Write down the people, places, and things that you love as well as how they make you feel. Also make note of what you are grateful for. Gratitude lifts up the heart chakra!

5. Throat

The throat chakra regulates self-expression and communication. It is associated with the color blue, and as the name suggests it is located in the center of your neck at the level of your throat. Balance in this chakra manifests as clear and honest communication that inspires those around you. An imbalance here is associated with throat pain or infections, and difficulty communicating.

Use the phrase “I speak…” to promote healing of this chakra.

Reflect on the words that you use and the ways that you communicate with others. Are your communications honest and truthful or callous and deceitful? Or do you have a hard time speaking your mind?

6. Third Eye

Your third eye chakra influences your intuition and ability see the big picture. It is indigo and is located on your forehead, between your eyebrows. An imbalance in your third eye chakra could manifest as trouble sleeping, lack of clarity, or inability to see the big picture.

Reflecting on the phrase “I see…” can help to clear blocks here.

Write down and reflect on the way that you see yourself, the ways in which you see others, what you see around you, and in your future.

7. Crown

Your crown chakra is located at the top of your head and is associated with the color purple or violet. It represents your ability to connect to spirituality or higher consciousness. On a physical level, it is often associated with the brain and nervous system.

A crown chakra imbalance can manifest as depression, spiritual uncertainty, lack of joy or excitement, chronic headaches and disconnection from the body.

To maintain balance in this chakra, reflect on the phrase “I understand…

What do you understand about yourself, the world around you and your spirituality? Reflect on ways you can enhance your connection to your inner world and the spiritual realm.

It’s important to understand each of your chakras and their significance because signs and symptoms of physical illness can be an indication of a chakra imbalance.

When you are well and healthy, your chakras are open and rotating at the speed needed to provide your body with the energy and support it needs to maintain balance physically, mentally, and emotionally. In contrast, if your chakras are too open, closed, or spinning too quickly, your health and well-being will suffer.

I have a vested interest in the physical health of my patients, but I am also interested in their spiritual and energetic well-being.

As part of their treatment, I explain what’s happening in their physical body and make recommendations to help them heal this part of themselves using food, movement, and other lifestyle and medical interventions, but I also help them to understand what’s happening to them on a spiritual and energetic level using information I’ve garnered from years of study and training with spiritual leaders, including those like Carolyn Myss, the author of “Anatomy of the Spirit.”

To help you better understand your chakras and improve your spiritual health, I’ve partnered with one of my favorite companies, Wholistic. Check out their tools and resources to help you optimize your spiritual practice.

And for the month of December 2018, get Wholistic’s Chakra Oils at 20% off!

Stay tuned for the next and final blog post in this series on spirituality where I’ll be sharing how your spiritual practice can help you move into the year ahead with ease and in good health.


Drjudysignature 1